One Thimble Issue 16 Blog Tour

One Thimble Issue 16WOW!! how great has the One Thimble Issue 16 blog tour been??! Unfortunately, all good things must end and today is the last day showcasing the latest edition of One Thimble. What a beauty she has been!!

Things I LOVE about One Thimble:

The amazing range of designers offered – there’s always a designer I haven’t tried before.

It’s produced in Australia!!

The helpful articles, fabulous discounts and fun tutorials

Pretty much everything 😉

Things I don’t….

NOTHING!! haha

I’m feeling extra lucky today because I tested one of the patterns in the magazine and I’m able to blog about two others too!!

One Thimble Issue 16, Hally Dress and Triton Singlet

Hally Dress and Triton Tank

First up is the Makana Mermaid Skirt from Tadah Patterns.

One Thimble Issue 16, Triton Tank and Makana Mermaid Skirt

Triton Tank with the Makana Mermaid Skirt

Let me start by saying Olivia absolutely LOVES this skirt!! Usually she tends to be a bit difficult about photos, but this time she was begging me to take them!

This is a fun little pattern with heaps of room to get creative. I don’t usually do much with trim, but I was browsing in Spotlight, saw the sweet scale fabric and found the pink fringing, so I decided to give it a go.

One Thimble: Issue 16 - Makana Mermaid skirt

**Hot tip, the smallest sizes fit on standard width fabric, but the larger sizes will require a wider fabric or you will need to add seam allowance and join the pattern pieces instead of cutting on the fold 😉

One Thimble: Issue 16 - Makana Mermaid Skirt

I made size 2-4, but added a little extra length as my daughter is taller than the height mentioned in the size chart. I included the wrist elastic to help carry the tail, but also added a length of bias tape and some ribbon to the centre, wrong side of the tail so I could gather it up, bustle like. (This is not included in the instructions)

 

**Be warned**
Making the Makana Mermaid Tail for your child may result in renditions of Do the Mermaid Twist, twist, twist (or similar), repeatedly, for HOURS!!!

I paired the Mermaid tail with the Triton Tank by Ainslee Fox Boutique Patterns.

One Thimble: Issue 16 - Triton Tank by Ainslee Fox Boutique Patterns

Triton Tank – Ainslee Fox Boutique Patterns

It’s a unisex pattern that results in a casual, loose fit, muscle style tee with heaps of ease. Olivia is wearing a size 4, made in a rayon knit from Spotlight that was hidden in my stash. The front hem is slightly higher than the back. The neckline has a band, but the sleeves are simply hemmed. This was a VERY quick sew, like maybe 1/2 hour absolute max from cutting to finish?! The tank goes well with a few other patterns in the magazine too.

One Thimble: Issue 16 - Triton Tank

Triton Tank – Ainslee Fox Boutique Patterns

Lastly, I was a final tester for the beautiful Hally Dress, another Ainslee Fox Boutique Pattern.

One Thimble: Issue 16 - Hally Dress by Ainslee Fox Boutique Patterns

Hally Dress

My job was pretty easy. All the hard work had been done with this pattern and all I needed to do was sew it up, no problems there! As soon as I saw the pattern, I knew I needed some large scale gingham and it looks even better than I envisioned.

One Thimble: Issue 16 - Hally Dress by Ainslee Fox Boutique Patterns

Binding method #2

I chose to use the second (and apparently easier) binding method for the neck. I love the cut out detail on the bodice, Eleanor thought they were little kitty ears!

Jen thoughtfully includes both pattern pieces and a cutting chart for all the rectangular pattern pieces, so whether you prefer to print or measure, you’re covered 😉
Layers (yay!) and very thorough instructions complete the Hally Dress pattern.

One Thimble: Issue 16 - Hally Dress Ainslee Fox Boutique Patterns

I made a quick head scarf to match, by cutting 5″ x WOF, then sewing right sides together, leaving a small turning gap with I stitched closed.

One Thimble: Issue 16 - Hally Dress by Ainslee Fox Boutique Patterns

Thanks so much for reading and I hope you have as much fun with the patterns as I have!

Want to win a free issue of One Thimble? (Don’t we all??)

Click here to enter the  Rafflecopter giveaway!!

Don’t forget to visit the other stops on the One Thimble: Issue 16 blog tour for more pattern inspiration.

Blog Tour Kickoff

Pattern Revolution

11/8/2017 Sewing with Sarah  GAAF Machine

12/8/2017 Call Ajaire  Happy Okapi  Idle Sunshine

13/8/2017 Pear Berry Lane  Candice Ayala  Needles to Say

14/8/2017 House of Estrela  That’s-Sew-Kari  Made by Sara

15/8/2017 Little Cumquat  Beri Bee Designs  Once Upon a Sewing Machine

16/8/2017 Sprouting JubeJube  Sew Haute Blog  Lily Shine Creates

17/8/2017 Lulu & Celeste  Adventures with Bubba and Bug

 

4 thoughts on “One Thimble Issue 16 Blog Tour

Leave a Reply

