One Thimble Issue 17

Wow, those last few months have FLOWN by and it’s time for the next edition of One Thimble. Issue 17 is bright, colourful and packed full of patterns!!

ot17 collage v3

Hello One Thimble!!

The first three patterns I’m sharing go together so well! Nothing screams summer like a cap, fun shirt and cool shorts 😉

One Thimble 17

Apple + Fig Posse Visor | Taco Time applique | Ainslee Fox Port shorts

I’ve been thinking about buying a visor style cap for my girls for ages, so the Apple + Fig Posse Cadet Cap and Visor was perfect timing!

They got a good trial at Little Athletics, it was super windy and they stayed on all afternoon! I used some 1.5″ elastic from Boo Designs for the back of the visors and I love how it looks! Both girls measured spot on S/M 20.5″, so I went with the medium, but it was too big. I unpicked the elastic, trimmed of the excess fabric and resewed, no problem at all.

This was a quick sew and a really nice finished product. It uses a very stiff interfacing for the brim so make sure you buy the right one, you don’t want a floppy cap!

One Thimble Issue 17: Posse Visor and Taco applique

The Taco Time applique is meant to be interactive, but I just KNEW all the pieces would be lost within about 10 minutes! (Neither my kids or I are very organised…) And I’m happy to say it still looks great!! I used some gold HTV for my taco shell, (following the HTV hints in OT:16) and sewed my taco filling in place 😉 Voila, one tasty looking taco that can’t be lost.

One Thimble 17: Port Shorts

Look at these groovers in their Ainslee Fox Port Shorts

Then, I sewed up two pairs of the Port shorts pattern by Ainslee Fox.

If you’ve ever wanted to make a pair of slim-fit shorts with a tailored look but not spend half your day making them, then this pattern is for you! Its a great unisex pattern in sizes 3 – 12.

Jen’s instructions are always very clear and easy to follow. I followed her advice to blend size 4 width with 6 length for a perfect fit on Olivia (bright floral pair) and made a straight size 4 for Eleanor (blue/white print)

My final sew was something special!! Meet the Festival Clutch…

One Thimble 17: Festival Clutch by Little Moo Designs

Small Festival Clutch with Navy Herringbone leather overlay

One of my favourite designers, Kylie from Little Moo Designs, is back with a gorgeous new clutch pattern. (I learnt to sew bags using Kylie’s patterns!) As soon as I saw the festival clutch, I knew I needed some new supplies for this beauty.

I’m not really a huge fan of lacing, so I ordered some round spots from Tandy Leather (1/4″ for the small size, 3/8″ for the large). Most of my leather was gone, so this was the perfect excuse to restock and I tried House of Adorn, a new to me shop with a beautiful range of leather and easy to use website.

Two sizes make this pattern perfect for every special occasion in your life. The small is perfect for a phone and a few cards, while the large size is big enough to fit most of your handbag into one fabulous looking clutch! The fringing is the big focal point on this clutch and it’s so easy to customise the length to suit you! I used the pattern length for my small clutch, but shortened it up for the larger size.

And if you know someone a bit smaller that would like a beautiful clutch, that’s easy too. I made Liv a small clutch, skipping the fringing, and adding a D ring either side to attach a shoulder chain, absolutely perfect!

 

One Thimble 17: Festival Clutch by Little Moo Designs

Small Festival Clutch

Thanks so much for reading, I cant wait to see everyone’s creations!! Don’t forget to join the One Thimble Sewing Enthusiasts Facebook group to answer all your questions.

What will you make first??

Follow the blog tour for some great inspiration and handy hints.

11/9/2017
11/10/2017
11/11/2017
11/12/2017
11/13/2017
11/14/2017
11/15/2017

 

Leave a Reply

